1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Borknagar Profile




Century Media Records

Borknagar History:

Borknagar was formed by Norwegian guitarist Øystein Garnes Brun in 1995. Infernus from Gorgoroth was also one of the original members. After releasing their self-titled debut in 1996, the band signed to Century Media. There have been several member changes over the years, and only Brun remains from the original lineup. Borknagar's sound combines black metal and folk metal.

Current Members:

Øystein G. Brun - Guitar (Molested, Cronian)
Vintersorg (Andreas Hedlund) - Vocals (Havayoth, Fission, Cosmic Death, Waterclime, Cronian, Otyg)
Lazare (Lars Nedland) - Keyboards (Solefald, Carpathian Forest, Age of Silence, Ásmegin)
Asgeir Mickelson - Drums (Ihsahn, Lunaris, Scariot, Spiral Architect, Thornbound)

Former and Session Members:

Garm (Kristoffer Rygg) - Vocals (1995-1997)
ICS Vortex (Simen Hestnæs) - Vocals, Bass (1997-2000)
Jens F. Ryland - Guitars (1997-2003, 2007-)
Tyr (Jan Erik Torgersen) - Bass (2000-2003, 2006-)
Kai K. Lie - Bass (1996-1998)
Infernus (Roger Tiegs) - Bass (1995-1996)
Grim (Erik Brødreskift) - Drums (1995-1998)
Ivar Bjørnson - Keyboards (1995-1998)

Borknagar Discography:

1996 Borknagar (Malicious)
1997 The Olden Domain (Century Media)
1998 The Archaic Course (Century Media)
2000 Quintessence (Century Media)
2001 Empiricism (Century Media)
2004 Epic (Century Media)
2006 Origin (Century Media)
2010 Universal (Indie Recordings)
2012 Urd (Century Media)

Essential Album:

The Olden Domain
Borknagar's second album is a great combination of black, folk and Viking metal. Garm's harsh and melodic vocals are also excellent.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.