1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Ayreon - 01011001

About.com Rating 4 Star Rating


Ayreon - 01011001

Ayreon - 01011001

Inside Out Music/SPV Records
Ayreon mastermind Arjen Anthony Lucassen has assembled another remarkable cast for his latest opus. Some of the vocalists that appear on the double disc CD 01011001 include Tom S. Englund (Evergrey), Jorn Lande, Hansi Kursch (Blind Guardian), Steve Lee (Gotthard), Jonas Renske (Katatonia), Anneke van Giersbergen (Ague De Annique), Simone Simons (Epica), Ty Tabor (Kings X) and more.

An impressive list of instrumentalists was also assembled, including guitarist Michael Romeo (Symphony X), keyboardist Derek Shirinian (Planet X) and drummer Ed Warby (Gorefest). 01011001 is an epic CD that tells the story of Planet Y (which is the CD title in binary code) and the struggle for emotional survival in an era of technology and our dependence on it.

The songs on the CDs are extraordinarily diverse, and the plethora of guests just adds to that. Some songs are heavy, dark and bombastic, some are progressive and dreamy while others are melodic and memorable. You'll hear nearly every genre under the sun, including power metal, classical, progressive, industrial, folk, electronica and rock.

Vocally 01011001 is also very eclectic. From mainsream melodic vocals to soaring power metal singing to dark and ominous growls to ethereal female vocals, this album has something for everyone. It's a musical tour de force that takes the listener on a musical journey with an interesting storyline and very well-written songs.

(released January 29, 2008 on Inside Out Music/SPV Records)

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.