1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Discuss in my forum

Gorgoroth - Antichrist

About.com Rating 3.5 Star Rating


Gorgoroth - Antichrist

Gorgoroth - Antichrist

Regain Records
Gorgoroth's first three full-length CDs are being re-released by Regain Records. They have also been remastered, which cleans up a little of the primitive production of the original. Antichrist was Gorgoroth's second full-length, and was originally released in 1996.

Antichrist is short, with only 6 songs clocking in at around 25 minutes in length. There were a couple of lineup changes, with Frost (Satyricon) joining the band as their drummer. A second vocalist, Pest, was also added to the mix. The songs on this CD are atmospheric and oppressively dark and evil. There isn't as much variety as on their debut, but there are some variations of tempo and intensity.

Gorgoroth alwaya manages to utilize melody, which tempers the dissonance of some of the riffs and makes their sound a little more accessible. Antichrist was a solid sophomore effort, but didn't quite live up to their debut.

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Heavy Metal
  4. Heavy Metal Bands
  5. G
  6. Gorgoroth
  7. Gorgoroth - Antichrist Review

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.