1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Various Artists - 'We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year'

About.com Rating 3.5 Star Rating


Various Artists - We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year

Various Artists - We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year

Armoury Records
Christmas albums aren't very metal, but metalheads have that Christmas spirit, too. Plus, would you rather listen to Kenny G. and Mariah Carey sing Christmas songs or would Dio and Lemmy be a little more metal?

We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year is a full filled and star studded Christmas music compilation. The songs are ones you've heard of, and there's a wide variety of genres represented. Some of those lending their talents to the CD include Alice Cooper, Lemmy (Motorhead), Jeff Scott Soto, Bruce Kulick (Kiss), Dave Grohl (Foo Fighters), Ronnie James Dio, Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath), George Lynch (Dokken), Chuck Billy (Testament), Scott Ian (Anthrax), Geoff Tate (Queensryche), Stephen Pearcy (Ratt) and Tracii Guns (L.A. Guns).

There's not a clunker on the album. Adding a metal touch to the songs doesn't detract from them at all, and even improves a few holiday classics. Some of the highlights include Lemmy's ragged voice singing "Run Rudolph Run," Chuck Billy's aggressive vocals on "Silent Night," Stephen Pearcy's cheesy rendition of "Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer" and Tommy Shaw's album closer "Happy Xmas (War Is Over)."

The songs are familiar, so you can play this one for your non metalhead friends as well. "Silent Night" might freak them out a little with the growling vocals, but the rest of the songs they should enjoy. We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year is a great soundtrack for your next holiday party.

(released October 14, 2008 on Armoury Records)

2009 Update
The full CD of We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year is back for another round of holiday cheer this year. In addition, there's an additional 4 track EP available digitally via iTunes, Amazon, etc. It includes classics like "Frosty The Snowman" with vocals from Anvil's Lips Kudlow, an intense version of "Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer" with DevilDriver's Dez Fafara bound to scare a few children with his aggressive vocals, Doro Pesch singing "O Christmas Tree" with an edge, and Girlschool's rousing rendition of "Auld Lang Syne."

We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year Tracklisting

1. We Wish You A Merry Xmas - Jeff Scott Soto/Ray Luzier/Bob Kulick/Chris Wyse/Bruce Kulick
2. Run Rudolph Run - Dave Grohl/Lemmy Kilmister/Billy Gibbons
3. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town - Alice Cooper/Vinny Appice/Billy Sheehan/John 5
4. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen - Ronnie James Dio/Rudy Sarzo/Tony Iommi/Simon Wright
5. Silver Bells - Geoff Tate/James Lomenzo/Ray Luzier/Carlos Cavazo
6. Little Drummer Boy - George Lynch/Simon Phillips/Billy Sheehan/Dug Pinnick
7. Santa Claus Is Back In Town - Juan Garcia/Marco Mendoza/Steve Morse/Tim "Ripper" Owens/Vinny Appice
8. Silent Night - Chuck Billy/Jon Donais/Scott Ian/John Tempesta/Chris Wyse
9. Deck The Halls - Craig Goldy/Oni Logan/Tony Franklin/John Tempesta
10. Grandma Got Ran Over By A Reindeer - Greg Bissonette/Stephen Pearcy/Tracii Guns/Billy Sheehan/Bob Kulick
11. Rockin' Around The Xmas Tree - Joe Lynn Turner/Rudy Sarzo/Simon Wright/Bob Kulick/Bruce Kulick
12. Happy Xmas (War Is Over) - Kenny Aronoff/Marco Mendoza/Steve Lukather/Tommy Shaw

Digital EP Track Listing
1. Frosty The Snowman - Steve "Lips" Kudlow/Bumblefoot/Chris Chaney/Kenny Aronoff
2. Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer - Dez Fafara/Doug Aldrich/Blasko/John Tempesta
3. O Christmas Tree - Doro/Michael Schenker/Tony Franklin/Frankie Banali
4. Auld Lang Syne - Girlschool

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Heavy Metal
  4. Heavy Metal Reviews
  5. CD Reviews
  6. CD Review Archive By Artist
  7. V
  8. Various Artists We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year Review - Review of We Wish You A Metal Xmas Compilation

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.