1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Cradle Of Filth Profile


Cradle Of Filth

Cradle Of Filth

Roadrunner Records

Early Days:

The UK band Cradle Of Filth was founded in 1991 by guitarist Paul Ryan, bassist Jon Richard, drummer Darren White and vocalist Daniel Davey, who called himself Dani Filth. After beginning as a death metal band, they quickly evolved into black metal. They soon recruited second guitarist Robin Eaglestone. They recorded some demos.

Lineup Changes:

By the time of their 1994 debut album, several lineup changes had occured, including the addition of guitarist Paul Allender, Paul's brother Benjamin Ryan on keyboards and drummer Nicholas Barker. Eaglestone also switched instruments from guitar to bass. There were numerous other lineup changes over the years, but it didn't affect the success of the band. They continued to popularize symphonic black metal.

Major Label:

In 2003 Cradle Of Filth signed to major label Sony for the release Damnation And A Day that included an orchestra and a choir. In 2004 they moved to Roadrunner Records for Nymphetamine. They continue to be one of the most controversial and successful black metal bands.

Current Cradle Of Filth Members:

Dani Filth - Vocals (Feast On Excrement, The Lemon Grove Kids, Obsidian, PDA)
Paul Allender - Guitar (The Blood Divine)
Charles Hedger - Guitar
Dave Pybus - Bass (Anathema, Dreambreed)
Martin Skaroupka - Drums

Former Members:

Paul Ryan - Guitar (1991-1994)
Stuart Anstis - Guitar (1994-1999)
Tishi Mehta - Guitar (1994)
Bryan Hipp - Guitar (1994-1995)
Gian Pyres - Guitar (1996-2002)
Jeff Acres - Guitar (1997-1998)
James McIlroy - Guitar (2004-2005)
Jon Kennedy - Bass (1991-92)
Robin "Graves" Eaglestone - Bass (1992-2002) Adrian Erlandsson - Drums (1999-2006)

Damien Gregory - Keyboards (1994-1997)
Benjamin Ryan - Keyboards (1992-1994)
Lector Smith - Keyboards (1997-1999)
William A. Sarginson (Was) - Keyboards (1999-2000)
Martin Powell - Keyboards (2000-2005)
Jon Richard - Bass (1991-1992)
Robin Eaglestone - Bass (1992-2001)
Darren J. White - Drums (1991-1992)
Nicholas Barker - Drums (1992-1999)
Dave Hirschheimer - Drums (1999)

Cradle Of Filth Discography:

1994 The Principle Of Evil Made Flesh (Cacophonous)
1996 Dusk And Her Embrace (Music For Nations)
1998 Cruelty And The Beast (Music For Nations)
2000 Midian (Music For Nations)
2001 Bitter Suites To Succubi (AbraCadaver)
2002 Lovecraft & Witch Hearts (Music For Nations)
2002 Live Bait For The Dead (live) (Snapper)
2003 Damnation And A Day (Sony Music)
2004 Nymphetamine (Roadrunner)
2006 Thornography (Roadrunner)
2008 Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder (Roadrunner)
2010 Darkly, Darkly Venus Aversa (Nuclear Blast)
2011 Evermore Darkly (Nuclear Blast)

Essential Cradle Of Filth Album:

Dusk And Her Embrace
Cradle Of Filth's second album has the unique combination of being both extreme and melodic. There's no doubt this is black metal, but many of the songs are really catchy and memorable. Melodic brutality is hard to find, but they did it on this album.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.