1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Mayhem Profile




Season Of Mist

Early Days:

Mayhem have one of the darkest and sordid histories of any band in history. They were formed in Norway in 1984 by vocalist/guitarist Euronymous, bassist/vocalist Necrobutcher and drummer Manheim. After recording a couple of demos, vocalist Maniac joined the band, and the album Deathcrush was released in 1987.

Lineup Changes:

After that album was released, Manheim and Maniac left Mayhem. They were replaced by vocalist Dead and drummer Hellhammer. In 1991 Dead committed suicide, and Hellhammer left the band.

Downward Spiral:

After Dead's suicide, the band spiraled into darkness. Original members Euronymous and Hellhammer recruited bassist Count Grishnackh (Christian Vikernes), guitarist Blackthorn and vocalist Atilla Csihar for the recording of De Mysteriis Dom Santhanas, which was released in 1993.


On August 10, 1993, Count Grisnackh stabbed Euronymous to death. Grisnackh was imprisoned, where he remains today. After the murder, Hellhammer decided to reform the band. Necrobutcher and Maniac rejoined Mayhem along with new guitarist Blasphemer. The new lineup released 2 EPs in 1997 and a full-length CD Grand Declaration Of War in 2000.


Mayhem continues to record and tour. They had another lineup change in 2004. Maniac left the group and was replaced by vocalist Attila Csihar, who had recorded the vocals for the 1993 album De Mysteriis Dom Santhanas.

Current Members:

Attila Csihar - Vocals (Aborym, Anaal Nathrakh, Finnugor, Kaos Logic, Keep Of Kalessin, Korog, Limbonic Art, Northpole, Plasma Pool, Tormentor)
Necrobutcher (Jorn Stubberud) - Bass
Hellhammer (Jan Axel Blomberg) - Drums (Age Of Silence, Arcturus, Emperor, Immortal, The Kovenant, Mortem, Shining, Thorns, Troll, Ulver, Winds)
Blasphemer (Rune Erickson) - Guitar (Aura Noir, Bloodlust, Eibon, Testimony)

Former Members:

Euronymous (Øystein Aarseth) - Vocals, guitar (1984-1993) Murdered in 1993
Manheim (Kjetil Manheim) - Drums (1984-1988)
Dead (Per Yngve Ohlin) - Vocals (1988-1991) Committed suicide in 1991
Occultus (Stian Johansen) - Vocals, bass (1991)
Maniac (Sven Erik Kristiansen) - Vocals (1986-1988, 1994-2004)
Count Grishnack (Varg Vikernes) - Bass (1993)


1987 Deathcrush (Deathlike Silence Productions)
1993 De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas (Deathlike Silence Productions)
1995 Dawn Of The Black Hearts (live) (Warmaster)
1997 Ancient Skin EP (Misanthropy)
1997 Wolf's Lair Abyss EP (Misanthropy)
1999 Mediolanum Capta Est (live) (Avantgarde Music)
2000 Grand Declaration Of War (Season Of Mist)
2004 Chimera (Season Of Mist)
2007 Ordo Ad Chao (Season Of Mist)

Essential CD:

De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas
Their second album is their most well-known, being released shortly after the murder of Euronymous. It's also their best, both in terms of the music and the lineup. At the time it was shocking and revolutionary, and it has held up well.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.