1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

ReVamp - 'ReVamp'

About.com Rating 3.5 Star Rating


ReVamp - ReVamp

ReVamp - ReVamp

Nuclear Blast Records
ReVamp is the new band formed by former After Forever vocalist Floor Jansen. She also recruited former bandmate Joost van den Broek on keyboards and guitarist/bassist Waldemar Sorychta (Enemy Of The Sun, Grip Inc). Sorychta and van den Broek also share songwriting and producing duties on ReVamp's self-titled debut. There are also some guest vocalists.

The music on ReVamp is gothic symphonic metal, in a similar vein to After Forever. Things get off to a bombastic start with “Here's My Hell,” with guest vocals from George Oosthoek of Orphanage. The ballad “Sweet Curse” is a duet between Jansen and Russell Allen (Symphony X).

The guests vocalists add some diversity, but Jansen is fully capable of carrying the load herself. “Millions” is an especially strong performance as she transitions between a melodic alto and operatic soprano. “In Sickness 'Til Death Do Us Part: Disdain” is the heaviest song on the album and features vocals from Soilwork's Bjorn “Speed” Strid. It's an interesting dichotomy, as Strid's vocals are harsher than the usual “beauty and the beast” combo.

As with most symphonic gothic metal albums, ReVamp gets a little bloated and over-dramatic at times. Jansen's strong vocals are usually enough to tide the listener over during the filler, although trimming a couple of tracks might have been a wise idea. ReVamp should satisfy After Forever loyalists and will appeal to gothic/symphonic metal fans in general.

(released July 27, 2010 on Nuclear Blast Records)

Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.