1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Soilwork Profile




Nuclear Blast Records


Melodic death metal band Soilwork has forged a long lasting career out of crafting a heavy, in-your-face approach with a slight melodic edge. Soilwork has mostly kept to their core sound, which has gotten the band many high profile tours with bands such as Dark Tranquillity, Anthrax, and In Flames.

Early Days:

Soilwork formed in 1996 from the ashes of Inferior Breed. The band signed with Listenable Records and released their debut album, Steelbath Suicide, in 1998. Soilwork toured around Europe, and would achieve critical acclaim with their sophomore album, 2000’s The Chainheart Machine.

Increasing Success:

Soilwork signed with Nuclear Blast, ensuring more high profile tours with big name bands such as Dark Tranquillity and Cannibal Corpse. 2001’s A Predator’s Portrait was another critical success, as Soilwork would play their first shows in America and, at the time, their biggest show in front of 20,000 people at the Wacken Open Air festival.

2002’s Natural Born Chaos was produced by Strapping Young Lad frontman Devin Townsend, while the band self-produced their fifth album, 2003’s Figure Number Five. The band toured in America with big metal bands like Chimaira, In Flames, and As I Lay Dying.

Wichers Departs and Returns and Departs:

After 2005’s Stabbing The Drama, long time guitarist Peter Wichers left and Daniel Antonsson was brought in to replace him. The band has slowly built a following with each substantial release, with 2007’s Sworn To A Great Divide charting on the Billboard and getting substantial radio play. Wichers returned to the band in late 2008 to take the place of his departing replacement, Antonsson.

In 2012, Wichers quit the band again. He was replaced by David Andersson.

If You Like Soilwork, You Might Want To Check Out:

Current Soilwork Band Members:

Bjorn “Speed” Strid - Vocals (Darkane, Coldseed)
David Andersson - Guitars
Sylvain Coudret - Guitars (Scarve)
Ola Flink - Bass
Dirk Verbeuren - Drums (Aborted, One-Way Mirror)
Sven Karlsson - Keyboards (Evergrey)

Former Band Members:

Ludvig Svartz - Guitar (1995-1998)
Ola Frenning - Guitar (1998-2008)
Daniel Antonsson - Guitar (2006-2008)
Peter Wichers - Guitar (1995-2005 and 2008-2012)
Carl-Gustav Döös - Bass (1995-1997)
Jimmy Persson – Drums (1995–1998)
Henry Ranta - Drums (1998–2003)
Carlos Del Olmo Holmberg - Keyboards (1998-2001)

Soilwork Discography:

1998 Steelbath Suicide (Listenable)
2000 The Chainheart Machine (Listenable)
2001 A Predator’s Portrait (Nuclear Blast)
2002 Natural Born Chaos (Nuclear Blast)
2003 Figure Number Five (Nuclear Blast)
2005 Stabbing The Drama (Nuclear Blast)
2007 Sworn To A Great Divide (Nuclear Blast)
2010 The Panic Broadcast (Nuclear Blast)
2013 The Living Infinite (Nuclear Blast)

Recommended Soilwork CD:

The Chainheart Machine
Soilwork’s sophomore album is a strong release, one that perfectly balances melody and aggression. While the later is much more prevalent on The Chainheart Machine, as the riffs fly out fast, the double bass work is relentless, and the solos tear up the musical landscape. Songs like the title track and epic “Spirits Of The Future Sun” are still standouts in Soilwork’s expansive catalogue.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.