1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Triptykon - 'Shatter: Eparistera Daimones Accompanied'

About.com Rating 4 Star Rating


Triptykon - Shatter

Triptykon - Shatter

Century Media Records

The Bottom Line

A fitting bookend to Tom Warrior’s storybook year.
<!--#echo encoding="none" var="lcp" -->


  • New tracks from 'Eparistera Daimones' recording sessions don't seem like castoffs.
  • Bonus tracks include a version of "Dethroned Emperor" with Darkthrone’s Nocturno Culto on vocals.


  • None.


  • Released October 26, 2010 by Century Media/Prowling Death.
  • Triptykon was formed by former Hellhammer and Celtic Frost frontman Tom Warrior.
  • They released their debut full-length earlier this year.

Guide Review - Triptykon - 'Shatter: Eparistera Daimones Accompanied'

Tom Warrior has suffered mightily at the hands of unethical records companies, greedy booking agents and estranged former bandmates. It’s good that the metal legend finally gets to live through a year that’s filled with accomplishments and good news rather than drama. First came Triptykon’s breathtaking album Eparistera Daimones, then his must-read autobiography Only Death Is Real.  Warrior is closing out the year with another gift: the five- track EP Shatter, which includes three songs that would fit nicely on his new album and two bonus tracks that fans will love.  

The opening tracks “Shatter” and “I Am the Twilight,” are the centerpieces. “Shatter,” is a moody piece somewhat reminiscent of Celtic Frost’s “Drown In Ashes.” It pairs goth sensibility with Warrior’s trademark riffing with excellent results and maintains Triptykon’s heft. 

“I Am the Twilight,” could be a companion piece to the Triptykon tracks “Goetia,” or “Abyss Within My Soul,”  two songs that display Fischer’s intensely personal songwriting. “Crucifixus,” is an ambient piece released early in the band’s short career on MySpace but  remixed and remastered. It sounds much better here than when it first appeared on the Internet.

The extras are a treat. They include Triptykon’s slowed down but still powerful version of “Circle of The Tyrants,” and a recording of “Dethroned Emperor” with Nocturno Culto on vocals. Both were recorded during this year’s Roadburn Festival, and both showcase Triptykon’s live prowess.

Tom Warrior doesn’t make happy music. Music is his way of expressing and purging personal pain. However,  Warrior must be happier than ever because Shatter is an appropriate closer to one of the best years of his storied career.

<!--#echo encoding="none" var="lcp" -->
Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Heavy Metal
  4. Heavy Metal Bands
  5. T
  6. Triptykon
  7. Triptykon Shatter Review - Review of Shatter by Triptykon

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.